The year's best producers of short* content

*140 characters or less, on Twitter

The first annual Shorty Awards Ceremony was held on February 11, 2009. Read what the press had to say about it and watch video from the night. Get news about next year's awards and who to follow on Twitter by joining the email list, subscribing to the blog, or following @ShortyNews on Twitter.

More about the Shorty Awards

"Hollywood has the Oscars. Broadway has the Tonys. Now Twitter has the... Shorty Awards" The New York Times

The Shorty Awards honor the best producers of short content on Twitter. Award winners were recognized in 26 official categories and over 1,000 user generated categories for 2008. The first award ceremony took place on February 11, 2008. The event was hosted by CNN anchor Rick Sanchez, and special guests MC Hammer and Gary Vaynerchuk — plus a video appearance by Shaquille O'Neal.

Who's behind the awards?

The Shorty Awards are a Sawhorse Media production. The folks behind the shorties are:

  • @semel

    Founder / Code Master of Disaster

  • @gregory

    Founder / Sawhorse Media CEO

  • @varga

    Founder / Sawhorse Media COO

  • @atw

    Pixel Pusher

How can I contact you?

You can email us at [email protected] or send us a tweet. We're @shortyawards on twitter.